Chief MD, Gangnam
Duk-ha Kim
The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.
Seoul
Hyaluronic-acid skin-quality booster injectable guide
BYRYZN is an intradermal hyaluronic-acid-based gel that Hugel presents under its own brand as a skin-quality booster and lists as a medical device. One peer-reviewed study covers it — a prospective, single-centre, single-arm, open-label pilot study with twenty participants followed for twelve weeks — and that design is the subject of this guide: what a study without a control group can and cannot tell you before you read it as proof of an effect.
BYRYZN is an intradermal hyaluronic-acid (HA) based gel that Hugel presents under its own brand as a skin-quality booster rather than a volumising filler. Brand material lists it as a medical device. The formulation described in the peer-reviewed study of the product includes lidocaine, a local anaesthetic, mixed into the HA gel. That composition detail matters at a consultation, because it is the kind of ingredient a patient with a lidocaine sensitivity needs to know about before the syringe is opened, not after.

Sources: Hugel — BYRYZN brand pageJ Cosmet Dermatol 2024;23(2):409-416 — prospective, single-centre, single-arm pilot study of an intradermal hyaluronic acid filler as a skin quality booster
Hugel — a Korean aesthetics company — lists BYRYZN on its own brand pages as one of its solutions, describing it as a medical device positioned as a skin-quality booster. That is the manufacturer-facing description; it is a company introducing its own product line, not an independent evaluation of the product. Nothing on this page should be read as endorsing or repeating any performance claim beyond that plain description.
Sources: Hugel — BYRYZN brand page
Yes — the brand material Hugel publishes lists BYRYZN as a medical device. This page goes no further than that plain fact: no device class, no permit number and no regulatory status in any market outside Korea appear in the source material this guide draws from, so none of that is stated here. If a consultation cites a specific class or a specific approval number for this product, ask to see it in writing rather than taking the figure on trust.
Sources: Hugel — BYRYZN brand page
One peer-reviewed study covers this product: a prospective, single-centre, single-arm, open-label pilot study published in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (2024;23(2):409-416). Twenty participants, average age 54.1, received three injections of the HA-based gel at weeks 0, 2 and 4, and were then followed to week 12. Every one of those design words — single-arm, open-label, pilot — narrows what the study is able to say, and the rest of this guide walks through what each one rules out.
It means every participant received the same treatment; there was no separate group left untreated or given a different intervention for comparison. A single-arm study can record what happened to the twenty people who were treated, but it has no parallel group to show what would have happened to twenty similar people who were not treated over the same twelve weeks. Without that second group, a before-and-after change in one arm cannot, by itself, be attributed to the treatment.
It leaves open the most basic question a study can ask: compared with what? Skin measured at week 0 and again at week 12 can change for reasons that have nothing to do with an injection — season, sun exposure, skincare changes, or simply how skin varies over three months. A controlled design puts an untreated or differently-treated group through the same twelve weeks so that shared background change can be subtracted out. This study has no such group, so that subtraction is not possible here.
Open-label means everyone involved — the treating clinician, the assessor and the participant — knew that the treatment was being given; nobody was masked to that fact. Knowing you have been treated can shape how you describe your own skin, and knowing which participant was treated can shape how an assessor rates a photograph or a scale. Blinding exists precisely to separate a real biological change from that kind of expectation, and an open-label pilot study, by design, does not have it.
No — that is the direct consequence of having no control group. Any improvement recorded between week 0 and week 12 could reflect the treatment, the natural course of the skin over that period, or some mixture of both, and this design has no way to divide the two apart. A controlled comparison is the tool that performs that division; a single-arm study was not built to perform it.
It could contribute to one, and the design cannot rule that out. Participants who know they have just paid for and received a cosmetic treatment often expect an improvement, and that expectation can influence self-reported results and, in an open-label study, assessor ratings too. This is not a claim that expectation is the whole explanation here — it is a statement about what an open-label, single-arm design is structurally unable to separate from a genuine effect.
Twenty participants, averaging 54.1 years old, is a small group for drawing any general conclusion, and the published study describes itself as a pilot on that scale for that reason. A pilot study of this size is built to test feasibility and to shape the design of a larger, controlled study — not to stand in for one. How this specific set of twenty people responded is not the same question as how a broader population would respond.
Not much, and that is worth saying plainly: twelve weeks after the third of three injections is a short window, and it is not long enough to describe how long an effect from this treatment would last. A study can only speak to the period it actually measured — this one measured up to week 12 — so any statement about duration beyond that window is not something this evidence supports, and this page makes no such statement.
No — a single-arm, open-label pilot study is a hypothesis-generating step, not a confirmatory one. It can suggest a treatment is worth studying further in a design built to test cause and effect: randomised, controlled, and ideally blinded. It cannot, on its own, establish that an observed change was caused by the treatment rather than by time, expectation, or a mixture of both. Reading this study as proof of effect goes beyond what its own design allows it to say.
The published study describes the injected material as a hyaluronic-acid-based gel that includes lidocaine, a local anaesthetic, administered intradermally across three sessions. That composition detail is a consultation question, not a footnote: anyone with a known sensitivity or allergy to lidocaine or to related local anaesthetics needs that history checked before this or any lidocaine-containing product is injected.
They name different companies, and this page states that fact without drawing a conclusion from it. Hugel presents BYRYZN on its own brand pages. The peer-reviewed study, separately, records the manufacturer of the product it tested as ACROSS Co., Ltd., based in Gangwon. Both of those are simply what each document says; this page does not speculate about a business relationship, an OEM arrangement, or any other explanation for the difference, because neither source states one.
Sources: Hugel — BYRYZN brand pageJ Cosmet Dermatol 2024;23(2):409-416 — prospective, single-centre, single-arm pilot study of an intradermal hyaluronic acid filler as a skin quality booster
The honest boundary is set by the study design itself, not by anything about the product: the pilot study followed participants to twelve weeks after the third injection, and it did not measure anything past that point, so no source behind this page can put a duration figure on the result — not four months, not six, not longer. That gap sits on top of the design problems already described here: with no control group, no source can say how much of any week-12 change is the injection rather than the natural course of skin over three months, so even the twelve-week figure is not a clean effect size to project forward. What would actually decide how long any change looks maintained — the concentration and cross-linking of the HA gel, the depth it is placed at, and each person’s own rate of turning it over — is not reported in the one study available, because that was not what a hypothesis-generating pilot was designed to measure. The consultation question that follows is direct: ask what the clinic is basing any stated duration or repeat-session interval on, since the published evidence stops at twelve weeks and cannot support a claim beyond it.
Four things, and each one is answerable in the room. Ask for the exact product name and the manufacturer listed on the box, and check it against what you were told beforehand. Ask whether the product contains lidocaine, and say so plainly if you have a known sensitivity to local anaesthetics. Ask which layer of skin it is injected into and which area is planned. And ask, before you agree to treatment, what the clinic’s procedure is if you notice a reaction afterwards — who you contact, and how quickly.
Sources: Hugel — BYRYZN brand pageJ Cosmet Dermatol 2024;23(2):409-416 — prospective, single-centre, single-arm pilot study of an intradermal hyaluronic acid filler as a skin quality booster
The one published study behind BYRYZN uses the single-arm, open-label design on the left. This table lines it up against the controlled design used to test cause and effect, so the gap is visible in one place rather than scattered across the page.
| Question | Single-arm, open-label pilot (this study) | Randomised, controlled design |
|---|---|---|
| Is there an untreated or differently-treated comparison group? | No — every participant received the same treatment | Yes — a separate group provides a comparison over the same period |
| Are participants and assessors unaware of who was treated? | No — open-label; everyone knew the treatment was given | Can be — blinding, when used, separates the treatment from expectation |
| Can it separate the treatment from the natural course of skin over the study period? | No — nothing here estimates what would have happened without treatment | Yes — the comparison group estimates that background change |
| Can it separate the treatment from expectation effects? | No — an open-label single-arm design cannot make this separation | Better placed to, particularly when blinded |
| What can the design conclude? | A hypothesis worth testing further — not confirmation of an effect | Evidence that can support a causal conclusion, if well conducted |
This table compares study designs in general, not products. It does not state or imply that BYRYZN has, or lacks, an effect — it explains what kind of question the published study is built to answer.
Care is provided by the medical team at the branch you select. These clinicians lead the three branches linked from this guide; confirm the doctor assigned to your visit with that branch.
Chief MD, Gangnam
The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.
Chief MD, Myeongdong
I want to be thinking about how the patient feels right up to the last moment of the procedure.
Chief MD, Hongdae
I will give my best with the attentiveness to catch even the smallest change.
Listed branch medical team — not a medical-review byline for this article.
BYRYZN is an intradermal hyaluronic-acid-based gel that Hugel presents under its own brand as a skin-quality booster, and brand material lists it as a medical device. The one peer-reviewed study of the product also names lidocaine, a local anaesthetic, as part of the formulation — a detail worth raising at a consultation if you have a known sensitivity to it.
No — the two documents name different companies. Hugel presents BYRYZN on its own brand pages, while the peer-reviewed study records the manufacturer of the tested product as ACROSS Co., Ltd., based in Gangwon. This page states both facts as each source writes them and does not interpret the difference, because neither document explains it.
Yes — one peer-reviewed study covers this product: a prospective, single-centre, single-arm, open-label pilot study published in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (2024;23(2):409-416). It enrolled twenty participants, average age 54.1, who received three injections at weeks 0, 2 and 4 and were followed to week 12.
It means every participant in the study received the same treatment, with no separate group left untreated or given a different intervention for comparison. Without that second group, a change measured before and after treatment cannot, by itself, be attributed to the treatment.
It means the clinician, the assessor and the participant all knew the treatment was being given, with nobody masked to that fact. Knowing you were treated can shape how you describe your own skin, and knowing who was treated can shape how an assessor rates it — blinding exists to separate that expectation from a genuine change, and this study did not use it.
It removes the one tool that lets a study subtract out change that has nothing to do with treatment — season, skincare habits, or how skin simply varies over twelve weeks. A controlled design measures a comparison group over the same period to estimate that background change; this design has no such group.
It could, and the design cannot rule that out. With no comparison group followed over the same twelve weeks, there is no estimate of what would have happened to similar skin without treatment, so a natural change and a treatment effect cannot be told apart here.
It could contribute, and an open-label, single-arm design is structurally unable to separate a real effect from that expectation. This is not a statement that expectation explains everything observed — it is a statement about what this design is and is not built to distinguish.
Twenty participants, averaging 54.1 years old — small enough that the published study itself frames the work as a pilot. A pilot at this scale is built to test feasibility and inform a larger, controlled study, not to generalise to a broader population on its own.
To twelve weeks after the third of three injections, which were given at weeks 0, 2 and 4. The study measured nothing beyond that twelve-week point.
No — twelve weeks is the entire window this study measured, and a study cannot describe what happens outside the period it actually followed. Any claim about how long an effect lasts beyond week 12 goes further than this evidence supports.
No — a single-arm, open-label pilot study is a hypothesis-generating step, not a confirmatory one. It can justify testing the product further in a randomised, controlled design; it cannot, on its own, establish that an observed change was caused by the treatment rather than by time, expectation, or both.
The published study describes the injected material as a hyaluronic-acid-based gel that includes lidocaine, a local anaesthetic, administered intradermally across three sessions. That composition is a consultation question, not a footnote, for anyone with a known sensitivity to lidocaine or related anaesthetics.
Four things: the exact product name and manufacturer listed on the box, whether the product contains lidocaine and whether you have a sensitivity to it, which skin layer and area the injection is planned for, and what the clinic’s procedure is if a reaction appears afterwards. None of those questions require you to interpret the study yourself — they simply confirm what is actually being injected and what happens if something goes wrong.
We started in Gangnam in 2006 and the network now runs 17 branches across Korea. The line we work to is skin transformation woven into everyday life — care you can keep up with, rather than one dramatic change.
Free Consultation
There is no inquiry form on this page. Once you have picked a branch above, open that branch’s site or the official reservation center and choose a time yourself.