Oliju Thread Lift

PDO thread lift with a published spec sheet

Oliju Thread Lift

Oliju is the working name for Allreju BASIC, a polydioxanone (PDO) suture made by the Korean manufacturer Apromedion and listed as a KFDA-approved medical device. What sets this page apart from other thread lift pages on this site is that the maker publishes a full specification table — USP size, needle gauge, needle length, thread length and insertion length — for three named configurations, Mono, Twine and Skin coil, along with a stated breakdown pathway for the material. Because those numbers are published rather than confirmed only at consultation, this page builds a comparison directly from them.

Published Last updated Medically reviewed by Duk-ha Kim
Manufacturer and product
Apromedion — Allreju BASIC, listed as a KFDA-approved medical device (polydioxanone suture)
Published configurations
Mono, Twine and Skin coil, each with a maker-published USP size, needle gauge, needle length, thread length and insertion length
Stated degradation pathway
Gradually absorbed over 6 to 8 months, breaking down into water, carbon dioxide and lactic acid
What this page does not state
A duration figure for how long a lifted result lasts, and any comparison showing Oliju outperforms another thread product

What is Oliju, and who makes it?

Oliju is the working name for Allreju BASIC, a polydioxanone (PDO) suture manufactured by the Korean company Apromedion. The maker’s own product page names the manufacturer, the item classification and the needle specifications directly, which is what makes the comparisons on this page possible.

Abstract editorial visualization for Oliju Thread Lift consultation planning
Sources: Abijou editorial visualization (AI-generated)Explanatory AI-generated illustration; not an actual patient photograph.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

Is Oliju approved as a medical device in Korea?

Yes — the maker’s product page lists Allreju BASIC as a Korea Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (KFDA)–approved medical device. This page does not publish the approval number; that detail sits with the manufacturer and the clinic.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What device category does Oliju register under?

The maker’s page lists the item name as polydioxanone suture and the product name as Allreju BASIC. Its stated purpose is an absorbable PDO suture supplied together with either a general-purpose catheter cannula or a sterile injection needle, inserted into the body for treatment.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

Why does it matter that Oliju’s needle specifications are published?

Most thread lift pages on this site describe a barb shape or a suture design and then point a reader to the clinic to confirm the actual product, because the manufacturer does not publish a specification table. Apromedion’s page for Allreju BASIC does the opposite: it lists USP size, needle gauge, needle length, thread length and insertion length for every configuration it sells, in a table. That published table is what lets this page compare configurations by number rather than by name alone.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What are the three published configurations — Mono, Twine and Skin coil?

The maker’s product page groups Allreju BASIC into three named configurations — Mono, Twine and Skin coil — each shown with its own needle and its own specification table. These names describe this manufacturer’s own product line-up, not a category shared across brands.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What does the published spec sheet show for the Mono configuration?

The Mono configuration is listed across eleven rows, from a USP 7-0 / 31G needle with a 12mm needle length, 10mm thread length and 5mm insertion length, up to a USP 5-0 / 26G needle with a 90mm needle length, 150mm thread length and 75mm insertion length. Every row in between is published on the same table.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What does the published spec sheet show for the Twine configuration?

The Twine configuration is listed across four rows, all at USP 7-0, with needle gauge from 26G to 27G, needle length from 38mm to 90mm, and thread length from 100mm to 300mm — noticeably longer thread lengths than Mono at a comparable needle length.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What does the published spec sheet show for the Skin coil configuration?

The Skin coil configuration is listed across five rows, from a USP 6-0 / 29G needle with a 38mm needle length, 50mm thread length and 20mm insertion length, up to a USP 5-0 / 26G needle with a 90mm needle length, 150mm thread length and 60mm insertion length.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

Does the spec sheet say which configuration a clinic should use where?

No — the published table lists needle and thread dimensions for each configuration; it does not assign a configuration to a facial area or a treatment goal. Which configuration, needle length and count a clinic plans for a given case is a treatment-planning decision, confirmed directly using the maker’s own numbers as the reference point.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

How is Oliju inserted into the skin?

The maker’s stated purpose describes the suture as supplied together with either a general-purpose catheter cannula or a sterile injection needle, inserted into the body for treatment. Which of the two a clinic uses, and the exact technique, is part of the insertion plan to confirm at consultation.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What does the maker state about how Oliju breaks down in the body?

The maker’s product page states that Allreju BASIC is gradually absorbed over 6 to 8 months and ultimately breaks down into water (H2O), carbon dioxide (CO2) and lactic acid, describing it as a biodegradable polymer compound. This is the manufacturer’s own stated breakdown pathway for the material.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

Does the 6-to-8-month breakdown period tell you how long a lifted result lasts?

No — the 6-to-8-month figure describes how long the maker states the material itself takes to be absorbed and broken down, not how long a visible lifting effect stays noticeable on a face. Material presence and visible outcome are two different measurements, and this page does not have a source that states a duration figure for the latter.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

How is evidence for absorbable suture materials generally reviewed, and does it test Oliju?

A 2021 review commissioned by FDA’s Center for Devices and Radiological Health had ECRI examine published evidence for polycaprolactone (PCL), an absorbable suture material different from the polydioxanone (PDO) used in Oliju. Across the human studies it covered, the reviewers rated evidence on local tissue reactions to PCL sutures as low quality — comparison groups existed but produced inconsistent results — and listed PCL’s properties on their own as an area still open for dedicated study. This review did not test Allreju BASIC or any PDO product; it is cited here only to show the kind of evidence bar that has been applied to one absorbable suture material, as context for how thread materials in this broad class are generally evaluated.

Sources: ECRI review commissioned by FDA CDRH (2021) — polycaprolactone material performance and safety profile

How long does the effect last?

No source cited on this page states how long a lifted result from Oliju is visible on a face — the maker’s own published figure covers only how long the material itself takes to break down, not the outcome. What is documented is that the three configurations differ in needle length, thread length and insertion length, and a plan that uses more or longer threads is mechanically a different plan from one that uses fewer or shorter ones — a difference the published spec sheet lets you compare by number. Ask the clinic what result duration it has observed with the exact configuration, thread count and insertion pattern it is planning for you, and whether the plan anticipates a follow-up session, since neither the manufacturer’s record nor the material review cited on this page answers that question.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What complication considerations does Oliju share with other thread lifts on this site?

Thread lift procedures as a category carry shared considerations such as swelling, dimpling, sensory change, infection and thread-related irritation, covered with pooled study data on this site’s other thread lift pages. This page does not restate those figures because they were not measured on Allreju BASIC specifically — ask the clinic which of these it observes most often with this product and how it manages them.

What should a quote comparing Oliju configurations include?

Because the configuration and its dimensions are published, a quote can be compared item by item rather than by name alone. Ask which configuration — Mono, Twine or Skin coil — is planned, how many of each, the needle and thread length selected from the maker’s table, the insertion technique, and the clinic’s stated procedure if a complication occurs. A published specification sheet is what makes that comparison possible; a name alone would not be enough.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

What does this page intentionally not state?

This page does not state a duration figure for how long a lifted result from Oliju lasts, does not claim Oliju performs better than another thread product, and does not treat the PCL material review as evidence about Oliju’s own PDO material. What it documents is the manufacturer’s own published item classification, needle specifications and stated breakdown pathway, and the questions those specifications leave for a consultation.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradationECRI review commissioned by FDA CDRH (2021) — polycaprolactone material performance and safety profile

How do Oliju’s three published configurations compare on paper?

The maker publishes a full specification table for each configuration. This reproduces the reported ranges side by side, for reference at a consultation.

How do Oliju’s three published configurations compare on paper?
ConfigurationUSP size rangeNeedle gauge rangeNeedle / thread length rangeInsertion length range
MonoUSP 5-0 to 7-026G to 31GNeedle 12–90mm · Thread 10–150mm5–75mm
TwineUSP 7-0 across all published rows26G to 27GNeedle 38–90mm · Thread 100–300mm25–75mm
Skin coilUSP 5-0 to 6-026G to 29GNeedle 38–90mm · Thread 50–150mm20–60mm

These ranges reproduce the manufacturer’s own published specification table for Allreju BASIC. They describe the product line-up, not a recommendation for one configuration over another or a promise about outcome.

Sources: Apromedion — Allreju BASIC product page, item classification, needle specifications and degradation

Medical care at Abijou

Care is provided by the medical team at the branch you select. These clinicians lead the three branches linked from this guide; confirm the doctor assigned to your visit with that branch.

Duk-ha Kim Chief MD, Gangnam

Chief MD, Gangnam

Duk-ha Kim

The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.

Cheol-su Yoon Chief MD, Myeongdong

Chief MD, Myeongdong

Cheol-su Yoon

I want to be thinking about how the patient feels right up to the last moment of the procedure.

Jae-wook Kim Chief MD, Hongdae

Chief MD, Hongdae

Jae-wook Kim

I will give my best with the attentiveness to catch even the smallest change.

Listed branch medical team — not a medical-review byline for this article.

Frequently asked questions

Is Oliju a brand name or a description of a thread shape?

It is a specific manufacturer’s product — Apromedion’s Allreju BASIC — not a description of a barb or thread shape shared across brands. The maker’s own product page names the manufacturer, the item classification and the specifications directly.

What device category is Oliju registered under in Korea?

It is registered as a polydioxanone suture and listed by the maker as a KFDA-approved medical device. This page does not publish the approval number.

What three configurations does Oliju come in?

Mono, Twine and Skin coil, each shown on the maker’s page with its own needle and its own specification table.

What are the published specs for the Mono configuration?

They range from a USP 7-0 / 31G needle with a 12mm needle length up to a USP 5-0 / 26G needle with a 90mm needle length, across eleven published rows — see the comparison table on this page for the full range.

What are the published specs for the Twine configuration?

All four published rows are USP 7-0, with needle gauge from 26G to 27G, needle length from 38mm to 90mm and thread length from 100mm to 300mm — longer thread lengths than Mono at a comparable needle length.

What are the published specs for the Skin coil configuration?

Five published rows range from a USP 6-0 / 29G needle with a 38mm needle length up to a USP 5-0 / 26G needle with a 90mm needle length, with thread lengths from 50mm to 150mm.

Does the spec sheet say which configuration should be used where?

No — the published table lists needle and thread dimensions only; it does not assign a configuration to a facial area. That treatment-planning decision is confirmed with the clinic.

How is Oliju inserted?

The maker describes the suture as supplied with either a general-purpose catheter cannula or a sterile injection needle, inserted into the body for treatment; which one is used is part of the clinic’s technique.

How long does Oliju take to break down in the body?

The maker states 6 to 8 months of gradual absorption, ending in breakdown into water, carbon dioxide and lactic acid.

Does that 6-to-8-month period tell me how long my lifted result will last?

No — that figure describes how long the maker states the material itself takes to be absorbed, not how long a visible lifting effect remains noticeable. The two are not the same measurement.

Is there a study that tested Allreju BASIC’s clinical performance specifically?

Not among the sources cited on this page. The maker’s page covers item classification, specifications and stated degradation; it is not a clinical study.

What does the FDA-commissioned review of absorbable suture material evidence say, and does it apply to Oliju?

It rated local-reaction evidence for polycaprolactone (PCL) — an absorbable material different from Oliju’s polydioxanone — as low quality, with no study evaluating PCL on its own. It did not test Oliju or any PDO product; it is cited here only as context for how thread materials in this broad class are evaluated.

What complications should I ask about with any thread lift, including Oliju?

Ask about the shared thread-lift considerations covered on this site’s other thread lift pages — swelling, dimpling, sensory change, infection and thread-related irritation — and which of these the clinic sees most often with this specific product.

What should a quote for Oliju specify?

The configuration (Mono, Twine or Skin coil) and how many of each, the needle and thread length chosen from the maker’s published table, the insertion technique, and the clinic’s procedure if a complication occurs — a published spec sheet is what makes that comparison possible.

How Abijou works

We started in Gangnam in 2006 and the network now runs 17 branches across Korea. The line we work to is skin transformation woven into everyday life — care you can keep up with, rather than one dramatic change.

  • Across the 17 branches in Seoul, Gyeonggi, Incheon and Busan: over 1,000 medical professionals and more than 350 certified medical devices
  • Authentic products only, in appropriate amounts — the treatment is fitted to the condition, not to a package
  • Prices are quoted from each branch’s published price list as it stands

Contact and location

↑ Back to top

Free Consultation

Booking happens at the branch

There is no inquiry form on this page. Once you have picked a branch above, open that branch’s site or the official reservation center and choose a time yourself.

  • No deposit and no online prepayment — everything is paid at the visit
  • Per-treatment prices are published for each branch on the official reservation center
  • English, Japanese and Chinese are supported alongside Korean
Oliju Thread LiftContact & booking