Chief MD, Gangnam
Duk-ha Kim
The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.
Seoul
Applied exosome guide — regulatory status and evidence
An exosome is a vesicle released by cells, not a cell — and on this menu it is sold as something applied to the skin by the ampoule, including a version paired with LDM, rather than as an injection. That distinction governs how the cited documents apply: FDA states there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products, and its public safety notification addresses exosomes used to treat diseases and conditions in humans, which is not the same as a ruling about a preparation applied to skin. This page sets out what the sources do state, including a 2026 systematic review in which most of the 21 included studies were preclinical, and what has to be asked because the listing names no product.
It is a vesicle — a small membrane-bounded package released by cells — and it is not itself a cell. That single point clears up most of the confusion around this menu word, because exosome preparations are routinely sold alongside stem cell language, and being derived from cells is not the same as being cells. A cell divides, responds to its surroundings and can take up residence; a vesicle is material that a cell has released, carrying whatever cargo it was loaded with, and nothing in that description implies a living component. Two limits belong with it. The listing here does not state what the ampoule contains, what it was derived from, or in what concentration, so nothing on this page describes the contents of any specific product. And the term is doing more work in marketing than in the literature: the 2026 systematic review cited throughout this page names the absence of an agreed standard for characterising extracellular vesicles, which means a word on a label is not by itself evidence of what is in the bottle.

Sources: Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026
Because the FDA document most often quoted in this area is framed by use, not by the word exosome on its own. Its public safety notification, issued on 6 December 2019, states that exosomes used to treat diseases and conditions in humans are regulated as drugs and biological products under the Public Health Service Act and the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. Read as written, that sentence attaches to a purpose — treating diseases and conditions in humans — and the sources cited on this page neither extend it to, nor exempt from it, a preparation applied to the surface of intact skin for a cosmetic purpose. So this page does not claim that an applied product sits inside that category, and it does not claim that it sits outside it either; neither statement can be supported from these documents. What can be said is narrower and still useful. The status of the specific product in the ampoule is not established by the listing, the category it is supplied under where you are treated is a question with a documentary answer, and a clinic quoting that FDA sentence about a topical item is quoting a sentence written about a different use.
Sources: FDA — public safety notification on exosome products (2019-12-06)
No. FDA’s consumer alert states plainly that there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products, and that sentence covers the category rather than any single brand — so a claim that a particular ampoule is FDA-approved contradicts the agency’s own statement about the class. Three qualifications keep this accurate. The statement describes the United States market and says nothing about registration elsewhere; this page carries no verified statement about how such products are handled in Korea, so it makes none. The alert is not addressed to cosmetic menus in particular, so it should not be read as a ruling for or against skin use. And approved is a precise word: it is not the same as marketed, not the same as widely used, and not the same as permitted for sale under some other category. If a clinic describes a product as approved, the useful follow-up is approved by which authority, under which category, and can that be shown in writing.
Sources: FDA consumer alert — regenerative medicine products including stem cells and exosomesFDA — public safety notification on exosome products (2019-12-06)
Less than the confidence of the marketing suggests, and a 2026 review counted it directly. Published in Dermatology Practical & Conceptual, the PRISMA systematic review of exosomes in skin rejuvenation screened 1,032 records and included 21. The majority of those 21 were preclinical — laboratory work on cultured cells and animal studies — with human clinical studies numbering roughly seven to eight in total. The authors conclude that standardised, larger and longer-term clinical trials are still needed. Two things follow for anyone reading a menu. A body of work that is mostly preclinical describes what happened in a dish or in an animal model, which is a legitimate research stage and not a finding about faces. And a handful of human studies, run with different preparations under different protocols, is not a basis for predicting what a particular ampoule will do. This page therefore reports the review as a measure of how early the field is, rather than as evidence that a treatment works.
Sources: Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026
It means that two products both labelled exosome are not necessarily comparable, and that is a practical problem rather than an academic one. The 2026 systematic review names the absence of an agreed characterisation standard for extracellular vesicles as a limitation of the field, alongside the small number of human studies. Without such a standard, a preparation can be described as containing exosomes with no agreed way to verify what proportion of the material is that, what else is present, or how consistent one batch is against the next. Three consequences are worth carrying into a consultation. Results reported for one preparation cannot be transferred to another merely because both carry the same word. A price difference between two ampoules may reflect a difference in material that neither listing describes. And a safety record, good or bad, attaches to a specific product and process — which is exactly why the product name, the manufacturer and whatever documentation exists are the first things to ask for, rather than a general conversation about exosomes.
Sources: Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026
None of the sources on this page state a duration figure for a topical exosome application, and that gap is a direct consequence of what the 2026 systematic review already describes: most of the 21 included studies are preclinical, the human clinical studies number roughly seven to eight, and the field has no agreed standard for characterising what a preparation actually contains. Without that standard, two ampoules both labelled exosome are not established to be the same material, so a duration reported for one preparation — even where a duration exists somewhere in the literature — cannot be assumed to describe a different ampoule sold under the same word. What would actually decide how long any visible change holds is the specific material in the ampoule, its concentration and source, the application protocol (including whether it is paired with a device such as LDM), and individual skin response — the same identity, category, material and batch details this page already lists as what to verify before booking. Ask the clinic for those documents, and ask specifically whether it can point to a duration figure tied to the named product rather than to the word exosome in general.
Sources: Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026
There is a documented record, and it should be read with its scope attached. FDA issued its public safety notification on exosome products in December 2019 after multiple reports of serious adverse events in patients in Nebraska who had received exosome products. More recently, on 11 May 2026, FDA warned patients and consumers about unapproved products derived from human cells or tissues, citing reports of serious harm including deaths, and stating that it has not reviewed or verified the quality, safety, purity or potency of those products. Both documents concern products marketed in the United States without approval, and this page does not assert that they describe the same form of use as an applied ampoule on a cosmetic menu — the notification and the warning do not make that mapping, so neither does this page. What they do establish is that the harm reported in this category is not a theoretical worry, and that the absence of agency review is a stated fact rather than an inference. That is the reason the documentation questions further down are worth insisting on.
Sources: FDA — public safety notification on exosome products (2019-12-06)FDA — patient and consumer warning about unapproved products from human cells or tissues (2026-05-11)
By asking for documents rather than descriptions, and by asking before the appointment rather than during it. Start with identity: the product name exactly as printed on the container, the manufacturer, and the country of manufacture. Then category: under what classification the product is supplied where you are being treated, and what registration or notification number, if any, exists for it. Then material: what the preparation is derived from, since that is not stated in the listing and cannot be inferred from the word exosome. Then batch: lot number, expiry date, and how the product is stored at the clinic. A clinic that supplies these readily has given you something checkable; a clinic that answers with the category word has answered a different question. None of this is an accusation and none of it is unusual to ask — it is the same information you would expect to be able to read off any product applied to your skin, and here the listing does not provide it.
Sources: FDA consumer alert — regenerative medicine products including stem cells and exosomesFDA — patient and consumer warning about unapproved products from human cells or tissues (2026-05-11)
Settle what will physically happen, step by step, and settle it before money changes hands. Confirm that the procedure is an application and that nothing in the visit breaks the skin surface — and if something does, ask what that step is, because it changes both the procedure and the questions worth asking about the product. Confirm how many ampoules are used in one session and what becomes of the remainder if one is opened. Confirm what else is performed in the same appointment, including any device time, and whether that is billed separately. Ask what you may feel during and afterwards, and what the clinic wants to be told about. Ask how the clinic is contacted once you are home again, who reviews photographs, and how quickly. And ask the question the listing leaves entirely open: what exactly is in the ampoule, by name and in writing. An answer that arrives as reassurance rather than as a product name has told you something useful about what can be verified.
Sources: Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026FDA — patient and consumer warning about unapproved products from human cells or tissues (2026-05-11)
This table separates forms that one menu word covers. It is not a ranking and not an efficacy comparison: every regulatory statement in the third column describes the United States only, review findings describe pooled studies rather than an individual outcome, and no row states what is permitted or performed at any particular clinic.
| Form | What it refers to | What the cited sources state (United States only) | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exosome applied to the skin — this menu | A preparation applied to the skin surface and sold by the ampoule; the product, its source material and its concentration are not named in the listing | FDA states there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products. Its public safety notification addresses exosomes used to treat diseases and conditions in humans, and the sources cited here neither place an applied cosmetic preparation inside that description nor exempt it from it | Product name and manufacturer in writing, the category the product is supplied under where you are treated, and whether any step in the visit breaks the skin surface |
| Exosome given by injection | Material placed beneath the skin surface with a needle or cannula — a different procedure from the one this menu lists | The FDA statement that no exosome product is approved applies to the category as a whole, and the December 2019 public safety notification followed multiple reports of serious adverse events in patients in Nebraska who had received exosome products | If this is offered, establish that it is a different item from the listing, what the product is, and under what framework it is given where you are |
| Exosome paired with a device — exosome plus LDM | The applied item billed together with time on an ultrasound device; Wellcomet describes LDM as ultrasound at 1, 3 and 10 MHz with half-value depths of about 3 cm, 1 cm and 3 mm, and it is not a laser | No source verified for this page establishes that ultrasound increases the uptake of an applied preparation, so the pairing is described here by its two parts rather than by a claimed effect | What each element contributes and on what basis, whether the device time is a separately bookable item, and what exactly is being claimed for the pairing |
| Cell-based or stem cell items | Cells, rather than the vesicles that cells release; a heading such as regenerative can cover both, and they are not interchangeable | FDA’s 11 May 2026 warning concerns unapproved products derived from human cells or tissues, cites reports of serious harm including deaths, and states the agency has not reviewed or verified their quality, safety, purity or potency | Whether the item contains cells at all, and if so what they are and how they were processed — a different set of questions from the ones on this page |
Every regulatory statement above describes the United States and is presented as such; this page carries no verified statement about how these products are handled in Korea and makes none. The systematic review cited elsewhere on this page included 21 studies, most of them preclinical, and its authors call for standardised larger trials with longer follow-up. Nothing in this table is a recommendation to have or to avoid a procedure.
Sources: FDA consumer alert — regenerative medicine products including stem cells and exosomesFDA — public safety notification on exosome products (2019-12-06)FDA — patient and consumer warning about unapproved products from human cells or tissues (2026-05-11)Exosomes in skin rejuvenation: systematic review, Dermatol Pract Concept 2026Wellcomet — LDM technology page
Care is provided by the medical team at the branch you select. These clinicians lead the three branches linked from this guide; confirm the doctor assigned to your visit with that branch.
Chief MD, Gangnam
The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.
Chief MD, Myeongdong
I want to be thinking about how the patient feels right up to the last moment of the procedure.
Chief MD, Hongdae
I will give my best with the attentiveness to catch even the smallest change.
Listed branch medical team — not a medical-review byline for this article.
Only the number of containers, which is why it is a weak basis for comparing anything. The listing counts ampoules; it does not state the volume in one, the concentration of material, what that material was derived from, or who made it. Those four facts are what would let you compare two quotes, judge whether a session uses a large or small amount of product, or check anything at all about quality — and none of them can be read off a count. Ask for the product name as printed on the container, the volume per ampoule and how many are used in one session, in writing. A clinic that can supply that has told you what you are buying; a count on its own has not.
Extracellular vesicle is the broader term and exosome refers to a subset of them, which matters here because telling one from the other depends on characterisation — and the 2026 systematic review states there is no agreed standard for characterising extracellular vesicles. In practice, the word printed on a product is a description chosen by whoever prepared it rather than a verified classification, and two preparations using the same word may not contain comparable material. This is not a reason to distrust every product; it is a reason to treat the term as an opening question rather than as a specification. Ask what the preparation is, what it was derived from, and what documentation of its contents exists.
The proposed idea is that vesicles carry signalling cargo to skin cells, but the cited sources do not establish that this happens in human skin after a topical application. The 2026 systematic review of exosomes in skin rejuvenation included 21 studies of which most were preclinical — cultured cells and animal models — with roughly seven to eight human clinical studies, and its authors call for standardised, larger and longer-term trials. Nothing cited on this page describes how much, if any, of an applied preparation reaches living skin layers, and this page does not fill that gap with an assumption. Treat a confidently described mechanism at a consultation as a hypothesis under study, and ask which evidence is being referred to.
Where the material ends up, and therefore which questions apply to it. An application stays on the skin surface as performed; an injection places material beneath it, which is a medical procedure with its own risks and its own regulatory framing. This menu lists the applied form. The FDA public safety notification most often quoted in this area addresses exosomes used to treat diseases and conditions in humans, and the sources here do not settle whether a cosmetic topical preparation falls within that description — so the honest answer is that the applied form raises a question these documents do not resolve, while the injected form is plainly the form they were written about. If a clinic offers to inject, that is a different item from this listing and should be discussed as one.
No — an exosome is a vesicle released by cells, not a cell, so an exosome item is not a cell therapy even when it appears under a heading that mentions regeneration. The distinction survives the marketing: material derived from cells does not contain cells, and a preparation described as exosome does not become a cell product because its source was cells. If a menu, a consultation or a leaflet slides between the two words as though they were interchangeable, that is the moment to ask which one is actually being supplied. For this listing the question has a documentary answer — the product name and what it is derived from — and it should be given in writing.
No head-to-head comparison between an applied exosome preparation and any other menu item was verified for this page, so the difference worth knowing is documentary rather than about results. For many items a product name and a manufacturer are stated and a regulatory category can be looked up; for this listing neither the product nor its source material is named, and FDA states there are no approved exosome products. That is a difference in what you can check before booking. If you are choosing between options, put the same three questions to each — what is the product, who makes it, under what category is it supplied — and compare the answers you can verify rather than the descriptions you are given.
None of the sources cited here reports pain scores for this procedure, so no figure can honestly be quoted. What can be said is structural: as listed, this is an application to the skin rather than an injection, so what you feel depends largely on the other steps in the same appointment — cleansing, any device time, the temperature of the product. Ask the clinic to walk through each step that will be performed on you and describe what each one feels like, and confirm that nothing in the visit breaks the skin surface. If a step does, ask about it specifically, because both the sensation and the questions about the product change at that point.
No downtime figure is reported in the cited sources, so this answer covers what to watch for rather than how long to expect. General post-procedure guidance applies: contact the clinic promptly for spreading redness or warmth, swelling that increases rather than settles, pain that builds, blistering, drainage or pus, or fever and chills. Seek emergency care for difficulty breathing, fainting, sudden swelling of the lips, mouth, tongue or throat, or any sudden change in vision. That is general safety advice rather than a finding of the studies cited here. Before travelling, settle how the clinic is reached from abroad, who reviews photographs after you leave, and which local clinician you would see first.
That cannot be answered from the sources cited here, and the reason runs through this whole page: no course schedule can be derived for a product that has not been identified. The 2026 systematic review pooled studies using different preparations under different protocols and yields no session count that transfers to a specific ampoule, and the listing sells by the ampoule and as a pairing rather than as a defined course. Ask for a written plan — how many visits, how many ampoules at each, what is done alongside, and what any follow-up visit is for — and note that a plan offering a number before it offers a product name has answered the easier question first.
Suitability is an in-person judgement that cannot be settled from a menu, and there is a specific complication here: without knowing what the preparation contains, an allergy check cannot be completed in advance. Tell the clinician about any history of reactions to skincare or medical products, any active skin infection, open wound, dermatitis or eczema in the area to be treated, any recent procedure on the same area, pregnancy or breastfeeding, and any condition or medication affecting the immune system — then ask which of those the clinic considers relevant here and why. Put the same question to the product: what is in it, and what is known about reactions to it.
No, and nothing cited on this page supports a no-risk description of any exosome product. FDA states it has not reviewed or verified the quality, safety, purity or potency of unapproved products derived from human cells or tissues, and its 11 May 2026 warning cites reports of serious harm including deaths in that category; its December 2019 public safety notification followed reports of serious adverse events in patients in Nebraska who had received exosome products. Those documents concern unapproved products marketed in the United States, and this page does not map them onto an applied cosmetic ampoule. But an unnamed preparation put on your skin is still an unidentified material, and a claim that any procedure carries no risk is a reason to ask more questions rather than fewer.
No. Medical grade, clinic exclusive and professional use are marketing descriptions rather than regulatory categories, and none of them corresponds to an approval. FDA states there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products, so a claim of approval for an exosome preparation contradicts the agency’s statement about the class; and for unapproved products derived from human cells or tissues, FDA states it has not reviewed or verified their quality, safety, purity or potency. This page makes no statement about registration outside the United States. The usable follow-up is documentary: registered or approved by which authority, under which category, with what number, and can it be shown in writing.
Match the product before you compare any amount, because two quotes using the same word may cover different preparations. Establish for each quote the product name and manufacturer, the volume per ampoule and the number used per session, whether device time such as an LDM session is included or billed separately, how many visits are covered and over what period, and what documentation you receive naming the product. Until those line up, the totals are answers to different questions. A quote that cannot name the product has not yet told you what is being priced, and a comparison built on top of that does not mean much.
That is a clinical judgement made in person, and the sources cited here do not address candidacy at all — they address regulatory status, reported harms, and how early the published evidence still is. What follows from them is a sequence rather than a verdict: identify the product, establish which category it is supplied under where you are being treated, register that the published body of work is mostly preclinical, and then have the suitability conversation with a clinician who can see your skin and your history. A description that presents this as suitable for everyone has skipped the first three steps.
We started in Gangnam in 2006 and the network now runs 17 branches across Korea. The line we work to is skin transformation woven into everyday life — care you can keep up with, rather than one dramatic change.
Free Consultation
There is no inquiry form on this page. Once you have picked a branch above, open that branch’s site or the official reservation center and choose a time yourself.