Renefil

Cross-linked HA and polynucleotide combination injectable guide

Renefil

Renefil is sold in Korea within the general skin-booster category, but the wording attached to it as a medical device describes something narrower: a tissue-restoration biomaterial containing cross-linked hyaluronic acid with lidocaine and polynucleotide sodium (PN), stated for temporary improvement of moderate-to-deep nasolabial folds in adults. That gap between how a product is marketed and what its stated intended use actually says is the starting point for this guide.

Published Last updated Medically reviewed by Duk-ha Kim
Manufacturer
BMI Korea Aesthetics
Composition
Cross-linked hyaluronic acid with lidocaine, combined with polynucleotide sodium (PN)
Device classification
Tissue-restoration biomaterial (medical device)
Stated intended use
Subcutaneous injection for temporary improvement of moderate-to-deep nasolabial folds in adults

What is Renefil?

Renefil is an injectable manufactured by BMI Korea Aesthetics, distributed under a product record that names its composition and its device category. It combines two materials in one syringe: a cross-linked hyaluronic-acid gel containing lidocaine, and polynucleotide sodium (PN). Those two ingredients belong to different material families, and the fact that they are combined in a single product is worth stating plainly before anything else on this page.

Abstract editorial visualization for Renefil consultation planning
Sources: Abijou editorial visualization (AI-generated)Explanatory AI-generated illustration; not an actual patient photograph.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Who makes Renefil, and how is it classified?

The manufacturer is BMI Korea Aesthetics. Its product record lists Renefil under the device category tissue-restoration biomaterial. That classification places Renefil among products intended to work through physical presence in the tissue rather than through a drug-style pharmacological action, the same category used for cross-linked HA fillers generally. Knowing the category matters more than knowing the brand name, because the stated intended use is written against that category.

Sources: BMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What is Renefil made of?

The product record describes Renefil as a combination of cross-linked hyaluronic acid containing lidocaine and polynucleotide sodium (PN). Cross-linked HA is a gel formed by chemically linking hyaluronic-acid chains so the material holds its shape and resists breakdown after injection. Polynucleotide sodium is a different substance derived from nucleotide chains. Both are named in the same product, and this page treats that as two materials to understand separately, not one blended effect.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What role does each material actually play?

Cross-linked HA is a physical filling material: once injected, the gel occupies space under the skin and holds that shape mechanically. PN belongs to a different material class entirely, built from nucleotide chains rather than a sugar-based gel. This page does not state what PN does or does not accomplish on its own, because no source used here supports a specific claim about it. What can be said is only that a cross-linked HA gel and a PN-based ingredient are not the same kind of material, and a product containing both should not be described as if it contained only one.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What is Renefil’s stated intended use?

Renefil’s product record states an intended use: injected subcutaneously to achieve physical restoration, temporarily improving moderate-to-deep nasolabial folds in adults. That wording is attached to the device classification, and it is narrower than a general skin-quality or hydration claim. It names one route (subcutaneous), one mechanism (physical restoration), one area (the nasolabial fold), one severity range (moderate to deep), one population (adults) and one duration word (temporary).

Sources: BMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Why do the words temporary and nasolabial fold matter most in that wording?

Of everything in that sentence, two words carry the most weight for a patient. Temporary rules out any claim of a lasting or permanent correction; whatever the product does, the record itself describes the effect as not permanent. Nasolabial fold names one specific area, the crease running from the side of the nose to the corner of the mouth. It does not name the cheeks generally, the under-eye area, the lips or the jawline. A plan that extends past that named area no longer matches what the record states.

Sources: BMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Why is Renefil marketed as a skin booster?

In sales and marketing material, Renefil is commonly grouped with products described as skin boosters, a category associated with hydration, glow and general skin quality rather than folds or volume. That marketing framing sits alongside, and separate from, the wording on the product record. This page does not assume the marketing category is wrong; it treats the two descriptions, sales category and stated intended use, as two different things a reader should be able to tell apart.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended use

Does the skin-booster label match the stated intended use?

Not exactly. A skin booster, as a sales term, points toward hydration and surface skin quality across a broad area of the face. The stated intended use on Renefil’s product record points toward physical restoration of one named fold, described as temporary. Those are not the same target. This does not mean the marketing description is invalid, but it does mean a patient who books Renefil expecting a general skin-quality treatment for the whole face is booking something narrower in scope than that expectation.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What does skin booster mean as a sales category?

Skin booster is not a regulatory term; it is marketplace language covering a wide range of injectables with different materials, different stated uses and different device classifications. Nothing is approved or classified under the phrase itself, because classification always attaches to a named product, not a category label. Hearing skin booster at a consultation tells you almost nothing about what will actually be injected. What applies is the classification and the stated intended use of the specific named product.

Sources: BMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

How long does the effect last?

The stated intended use describes the effect as temporary, but it does not attach a length of time to that word, and no source cited on this page supplies one either. What the composition section does support is that the base material, cross-linked HA, is a gel formed by chemically linking hyaluronic-acid chains specifically so it holds its shape and resists breakdown after injection — the same physical filler mechanism used in volume fillers, which are gradually broken down and reabsorbed by the body rather than staying in place indefinitely, consistent with an effect described as temporary rather than permanent, though that is not itself a stated number of weeks or months. This page also does not state what the PN component contributes on its own, so no separate duration claim can be attached to it either. No source here sets a re-treatment interval, so ask at consultation how long the clinic expects the correction to be visible for the area actually being treated, and what its retreatment plan is based on.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What does using a cross-linked HA product mean for treatment planning?

Renefil’s base material is cross-linked hyaluronic acid, the same material family used in volume fillers. That single fact carries forward into planning: whatever safety questions apply before receiving a cross-linked HA filler elsewhere on the face, such as injection technique and how a clinic checks for and responds to signs of vascular compromise, apply here too, because the material category is shared. This page does not restate complication figures; those are already covered on this site’s guide to dermal fillers. The point here is only that the classification carries over to Renefil.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Why does the lidocaine content need to be checked before treatment?

Renefil’s cross-linked HA component is formulated with lidocaine, a local anaesthetic included in the product itself. That is a composition fact, not a comfort feature to skip past. A patient with a known allergy or sensitivity to local anaesthetics needs that history reviewed before this specific product is used, because the anaesthetic is part of what is being injected, not a separate topical numbing step a clinic can substitute out.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What if a clinic proposes treating an area other than the nasolabial fold?

That is worth a direct question. The stated intended use names the nasolabial fold specifically, with a moderate-to-deep severity range attached to it. If a consultation proposes Renefil for a different area, such as under the eyes, the cheeks generally or the lips, that plan sits outside the area named in the product record. It does not automatically mean the plan is wrong, but the clinic should be able to explain, in its own words, why it is choosing a product whose stated use names a different location.

Sources: BMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

How should a phrase like PN skin booster be read against the stated use?

Read it as a description of ingredients and sales positioning, not as a substitute for the stated intended use. Calling a product a PN skin booster tells you that PN is one of its ingredients and that it is being sold in the skin-booster category; it does not describe what the device record states the product is for. The two descriptions can sit side by side without contradicting each other in fact, but a reader should know which one is the regulatory wording and which one is the sales language.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Why does confirming the exact product matter before treatment?

Because the stated intended use, the composition and the classification described on this page attach to one named product, Renefil, as recorded by its manufacturer and distributor. A booking described only by a category name, such as a skin-booster package or a PN treatment, does not confirm that this specific product is what will be injected. Ask for the product by its full name, and ask to see the outer box and lot number before it is opened.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

What should you confirm before booking?

Four things, all answerable in a consultation. Confirm that the planned treatment area matches the nasolabial fold named in the stated intended use, or ask why it does not if a different area is proposed. Confirm the injection depth and the volume planned for the area. Confirm that your history with local anaesthetics has been reviewed, since lidocaine is part of this product. And agree, before treatment, on how to contact the clinic and what to describe if you notice pain, blanching, discolouration or any other sign of a vascular problem afterward.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Do a skin-booster label, Renefil’s stated intended use and a generic cross-linked HA filler describe the same thing?

These are three different kinds of description: a sales category, a specific device record and a material class shared with other products. Line up what each one actually refers to before comparing anything else.

Do a skin-booster label, Renefil’s stated intended use and a generic cross-linked HA filler describe the same thing?
What you might hearWhat it actually refers toWhat Renefil’s stated intended use saysConfirm before booking
Renefil marketed as a skin boosterSales-category language associated with hydration and general skin quality, used for many different injectablesRenefil’s own stated intended use names physical restoration of the nasolabial fold, not hydrationAsk the clinic to show the stated intended use alongside the marketing description
Renefil’s stated intended use on recordSubcutaneous injection for temporary, physical restoration of moderate-to-deep nasolabial folds in adultsNames one area and one duration word, nothing about the face generally or a lasting resultAsk whether your planned area is the nasolabial fold, and if not, ask why
A cross-linked HA filler in general (any brand)Physically fills space under the skin; shares its material category with Renefil’s HA componentThis page does not restate vascular-injection risk figures already covered on this site’s guide to dermal fillersAsk how the clinic applies cross-linked HA safety practice to this specific product

This table lines up what each phrase refers to. It does not rank products, recommend treatment, or describe how any individual will respond.

Sources: Renefil — official product site, stated composition and intended useBMI Korea Aesthetics — Renefil product record

Medical care at Abijou

Care is provided by the medical team at the branch you select. These clinicians lead the three branches linked from this guide; confirm the doctor assigned to your visit with that branch.

Duk-ha Kim Chief MD, Gangnam

Chief MD, Gangnam

Duk-ha Kim

The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.

Cheol-su Yoon Chief MD, Myeongdong

Chief MD, Myeongdong

Cheol-su Yoon

I want to be thinking about how the patient feels right up to the last moment of the procedure.

Jae-wook Kim Chief MD, Hongdae

Chief MD, Hongdae

Jae-wook Kim

I will give my best with the attentiveness to catch even the smallest change.

Listed branch medical team — not a medical-review byline for this article.

Frequently asked questions

What is Renefil?

Renefil is an injectable manufactured by BMI Korea Aesthetics that combines cross-linked hyaluronic acid containing lidocaine with polynucleotide sodium (PN) in a single syringe. Its product record classifies it as a tissue-restoration biomaterial, a medical-device category, and states an intended use narrower than the way the product is often marketed.

Who manufactures Renefil?

BMI Korea Aesthetics is named as the manufacturer on the product record used as the source for this page. That record is also where the stated intended use, the composition and the device classification come from.

What two materials does Renefil combine?

It combines cross-linked hyaluronic acid, formulated with lidocaine, and polynucleotide sodium (PN). These are two different material families joined in one product, not two names for the same ingredient.

Is the PN component the same kind of material as the cross-linked HA?

No. Cross-linked HA is a gel that physically fills space once injected; PN is built from nucleotide chains and belongs to a different material class. This page does not state a specific effect for PN, because no source used here supports one.

How is Renefil classified as a medical device?

It is classified as a tissue-restoration biomaterial. That classification places it among products intended to act through physical presence in the tissue, the same general category used for cross-linked HA fillers.

What does Renefil’s stated intended use actually say?

It states that Renefil is injected subcutaneously to achieve physical restoration, temporarily improving moderate-to-deep nasolabial folds in adults. That wording names one route, one area, one severity range, one population and one duration word.

Why does the word temporary matter in that wording?

Because it rules out any claim of a lasting or permanent correction. Whatever result the product produces, the stated intended use itself describes that result as temporary, not permanent.

Is Renefil a filler or a skin booster?

It is marketed within the skin-booster category, but its stated intended use describes a tissue-restoration biomaterial for the nasolabial fold, wording that reads like a filler indication rather than a hydration claim. Both descriptions exist for the same product, and a reader should be able to tell them apart.

Why is a product with this stated intended use sold as a skin booster?

None of the sources used for this page explain that marketing decision, so this page does not guess at a reason. What they do show is the gap itself: the sales category points toward hydration and general skin quality, while the stated intended use points toward physical restoration of one named fold.

Does Renefil carry the same risk category as a volume filler?

Its base material does. Renefil’s HA component is cross-linked, the same material family used in volume fillers, so the injection-safety questions that apply to a cross-linked HA filler elsewhere on the face apply here too. This page does not restate complication figures already covered on this site’s guide to dermal fillers.

Why does it matter that Renefil contains lidocaine?

Because lidocaine, a local anaesthetic, is formulated into the cross-linked HA component itself. A history of allergy or sensitivity to local anaesthetics needs to be reviewed before this specific product is used, since the anaesthetic cannot be separated out of what is injected.

Can Renefil be used somewhere other than the nasolabial fold?

That would go beyond the area named in the stated intended use, which specifies the nasolabial fold with a moderate-to-deep severity range. If a different area is proposed, ask the clinic to explain the reasoning directly, since the product record does not name that area.

What does a phrase like PN skin booster actually tell me?

It tells you that PN is one listed ingredient and that the product is being sold in the skin-booster category. It does not describe what the device record states the product is for, which is a separate piece of information worth asking for directly.

What should I confirm before booking treatment with Renefil?

Four things: that the planned area matches the nasolabial fold named in the stated intended use, the injection depth and volume, your history with local anaesthetics given the lidocaine content, and how to contact the clinic if a vascular warning sign appears afterward.

How Abijou works

We started in Gangnam in 2006 and the network now runs 17 branches across Korea. The line we work to is skin transformation woven into everyday life — care you can keep up with, rather than one dramatic change.

  • Across the 17 branches in Seoul, Gyeonggi, Incheon and Busan: over 1,000 medical professionals and more than 350 certified medical devices
  • Authentic products only, in appropriate amounts — the treatment is fitted to the condition, not to a package
  • Prices are quoted from each branch’s published price list as it stands

Contact and location

↑ Back to top

Free Consultation

Booking happens at the branch

There is no inquiry form on this page. Once you have picked a branch above, open that branch’s site or the official reservation center and choose a time yourself.

  • No deposit and no online prepayment — everything is paid at the visit
  • Per-treatment prices are published for each branch on the official reservation center
  • English, Japanese and Chinese are supported alongside Korean
RenefilContact & booking