V-RO 2 Advance

HIFU + RF combination device guide

V-RO 2 Advance

V-RO Advance is a combination system made by Hironic, built from separate HIFU and RF handpieces and exported under the name NEW DOUBLO 2.0. It is not a laser device, and the manufacturer material pairs a lifting indication only with the eyebrow area.

Published Last updated Medically reviewed by Duk-ha Kim
Maker / model
Hironic V-RO ADVANCE (export name: NEW DOUBLO 2.0)
Energy
Focused ultrasound (SD, FL), bipolar RF microneedle (RM, RM(B)), and plasma (PS) — not laser
U.S. clearance
510(k) K251334 (2025-09-29), covering the RM, RM(B) and PS handpieces
Eyebrow-only lifting wording
Lifting appears only in the focused-ultrasound category, limited to the eyebrow area

What is the official product name behind this menu listing?

Clinics list this treatment under a menu name built around the number "2." Manufacturer material identifies the underlying system as V-RO ADVANCE, made by Hironic and exported under the name NEW DOUBLO 2.0.

Abstract editorial visualization for V-RO 2 Advance consultation planning
Sources: Abijou editorial visualization (AI-generated)Explanatory AI-generated illustration; not an actual patient photograph.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

Does V-RO Advance use laser energy?

No. V-RO Advance combines focused-ultrasound (HIFU) handpieces with radiofrequency (RF) handpieces. Some regional menu translations use the word "laser" in the treatment name, but the manufacturer material describes the energy sources as ultrasound and RF, not laser light.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What handpieces make up the V-RO Advance system?

Manufacturer material lists five handpieces: SD and FL, which deliver focused ultrasound; RM and RM(B), which deliver bipolar RF through a microneedle applicator; and PS, which delivers plasma energy.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What does the U.S. 510(k) clearance for this system cover?

The FDA cleared NEW DOUBLO 2.0 under 510(k) K251334 on 2025-09-29, classified under 21 CFR 878.4400, product code GEI. The clearance states the RM and RM(B) handpieces are "intended for use in dermatologic and general surgical procedures for electro-coagulation and hemostasis," and the PS handpiece is "used in the removal and destruction of skin lesions and coagulation of tissue."

Sources: FDA 510(k) K251334 (2025-09-29) — NEW DOUBLO 2.0 clearance summary, indications for use by handpiece

Where does the manufacturer pair "lifting" with this device?

The manufacturer site lists three separate intended-use categories for the system. The focused-ultrasound category — described as a device that coagulates tissue — is the one paired with a lifting indication, and that lifting indication is limited to the eyebrow area.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What does the general-purpose electrosurgical category say?

A second intended-use category describes a general-purpose electrosurgical instrument that uses RF current to coagulate tissue. This category carries no lifting wording.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What does the RF-stimulator category say?

A third intended-use category describes an RF stimulator used for pain relief. This category also carries no lifting wording.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What did the published split-face study compare?

A clinic-sponsored split-face study enrolled 21 participants and compared focused ultrasound alone against focused ultrasound combined with RF, applied to opposite sides of the same face. The authors were affiliated with the treating clinic rather than the device manufacturer.

What the published follow-up window covers

The study followed participants for eight weeks and compared two active treatment arms rather than an active arm against an untreated control. Its published results describe that eight-week window and that arm-to-arm comparison.

Does the other publication on this device lineage count as a study?

A separate piece of literature on this device lineage was published as a letter to the editor rather than as a full original research article, so it is presented here as a note rather than as clinical evidence alongside the split-face study.

How is a handpiece matched to a treatment goal?

Manufacturer material pairs each named handpiece with its own use: eyebrow-area lifting for the focused-ultrasound handpieces (SD, FL), and lesion removal with tissue coagulation for the plasma handpiece (PS), alongside a separate RF-stimulator category for pain relief. Because these uses differ, the handpiece and area planned for a session should follow the concern assessed at consultation.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

How do the confirmed indications compare across handpieces?

The handpieces are cleared or described for different purposes rather than as substitutes for each other. The table below lines up what the U.S. clearance and the Korean-market wording from the manufacturer each say for every handpiece.

Sources: FDA 510(k) K251334 (2025-09-29) — NEW DOUBLO 2.0 clearance summary, indications for use by handpieceV-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

How long does the effect last?

The one published split-face study on this device lineage followed participants for eight weeks and compared two active treatment arms against each other, not an active arm against an untreated control, and its authors were affiliated with the treating clinic. An eight-week, arm-to-arm comparison can describe a difference between the two settings tested; it does not establish how long either result holds after that window closes. The manufacturer’s own eyebrow-lift wording likewise states a use, not a duration. What would actually decide durability — which handpieces and settings are used, how many sessions, and how your own tissue responds — is not stated as a number here. Ask the clinic what result they expect at eight weeks, whether they recommend a maintenance session, and on what basis they would schedule one.

Sources: V-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

What should you confirm before booking?

Confirm which handpieces are planned for your session and why, which area is being assessed, whether the goal matches the eyebrow-lift, coagulation, or pain-relief use listed for that handpiece, and what energy and settings are planned for your anatomy. Disclose current medicines, pregnancy or breastfeeding, implanted electronic devices, active skin infection or disease, and any recent energy-based or injectable treatments in the same area.

When should you contact the clinic after treatment?

Contact the treating clinic promptly if you notice a suspected burn, swelling, pain, or a skin change that persists or worsens after your session.

Which indication is confirmed for which handpiece?

Compare the exact handpiece being proposed against the wording each source states for that handpiece, rather than assuming the indication for one handpiece applies to another.

Which indication is confirmed for which handpiece?
HandpieceEnergyU.S. 510(k) K251334 wordingKorean-market wording from the manufacturer
SD, FLFocused ultrasound (HIFU)—Focused-ultrasound category: coagulates tissue, used for eyebrow-area lifting
RM, RM(B)Bipolar RF (microneedle)"Intended for use in dermatologic and general surgical procedures for electro-coagulation and hemostasis"General-purpose electrosurgical category: RF current coagulates tissue, no lifting wording
PSPlasma"Used in the removal and destruction of skin lesions and coagulation of tissue"—
RF stimulator (Korean-market category)Radiofrequency—RF-stimulator category: used for pain relief, no lifting wording

This table lines up sourced wording per handpiece or category. It is not a ranking, and it does not state that any handpiece is approved for lifting outside the eyebrow area.

Sources: FDA 510(k) K251334 (2025-09-29) — NEW DOUBLO 2.0 clearance summary, indications for use by handpieceV-RO ADVANCE — manufacturer product site, stated intended use for each device category

Medical care at Abijou

Care is provided by the medical team at the branch you select. These clinicians lead the three branches linked from this guide; confirm the doctor assigned to your visit with that branch.

Duk-ha Kim Chief MD, Gangnam

Chief MD, Gangnam

Duk-ha Kim

The trust our patients have placed in this clinic was built on conviction and principle. We intend to hold to both, unchanged, through the next hundred years.

Cheol-su Yoon Chief MD, Myeongdong

Chief MD, Myeongdong

Cheol-su Yoon

I want to be thinking about how the patient feels right up to the last moment of the procedure.

Jae-wook Kim Chief MD, Hongdae

Chief MD, Hongdae

Jae-wook Kim

I will give my best with the attentiveness to catch even the smallest change.

Listed branch medical team — not a medical-review byline for this article.

Frequently asked questions

What is the official product name behind the menu listing "V-RO 2 Advance"?

Manufacturer material identifies the system as V-RO ADVANCE, made by Hironic and exported under the name NEW DOUBLO 2.0. The menu listing adds the digit "2," which is a clinic-side name rather than part of that manufacturer model name.

Is V-RO Advance a laser treatment?

No, it is not a laser. It combines focused-ultrasound (HIFU) handpieces with radiofrequency (RF) handpieces, and the manufacturer material describes the energy sources as ultrasound and RF rather than laser light.

What handpieces does V-RO Advance use?

It uses five handpieces: SD and FL for focused ultrasound, RM and RM(B) for bipolar RF delivered through a microneedle applicator, and PS for plasma.

What did the FDA clear for this device, and when?

The FDA cleared NEW DOUBLO 2.0 under 510(k) K251334 on 2025-09-29, classified under 21 CFR 878.4400, product code GEI, with stated indications for the RM, RM(B) and PS handpieces.

What does the RM handpiece clearance wording actually say?

It states the RM and RM(B) handpieces are "intended for use in dermatologic and general surgical procedures for electro-coagulation and hemostasis."

What does the PS handpiece clearance wording actually say?

It states the PS handpiece is "used in the removal and destruction of skin lesions and coagulation of tissue."

Where does the manufacturer use the word "lifting"?

Only in the focused-ultrasound intended-use category, and only for the eyebrow area. The other two intended-use categories describe coagulation and pain relief without lifting wording.

Does the general electrosurgical category mention lifting?

No. That category describes an instrument that coagulates tissue with RF current and carries no lifting wording.

Does the RF-stimulator category mention lifting?

No. That category describes RF energy used for pain relief and carries no lifting wording.

What did the published split-face study actually compare?

A clinic-sponsored study enrolled 21 participants and compared focused ultrasound alone against focused ultrasound combined with RF, on opposite sides of the same face. The authors were affiliated with the treating clinic rather than the manufacturer.

How long did that study follow participants, and what does the design tell you?

It followed participants for eight weeks and compared two active treatment arms rather than an active arm against an untreated control, so its published results are limited to that window and that comparison.

Is there another publication about this device lineage?

Yes, but it was published as a letter to the editor rather than as a full original research article, so it is presented here as a note rather than as clinical evidence alongside the split-face study.

How is the right handpiece chosen for a session?

Manufacturer material pairs each handpiece with its own documented use, so the handpiece and area used in a session should follow the concern assessed at consultation rather than a single fixed protocol.

What should you confirm and disclose before booking?

Confirm which handpieces are planned, which area is being assessed, and whether the goal matches that handpiece documented use. Disclose current medicines, pregnancy or breastfeeding, implanted electronic devices, active skin infection or disease, and recent energy-based or injectable treatments in the same area.

When should you contact the clinic after treatment?

Contact the treating clinic promptly if you notice a suspected burn, swelling, pain, or a skin change that persists or worsens after your session.

How Abijou works

We started in Gangnam in 2006 and the network now runs 17 branches across Korea. The line we work to is skin transformation woven into everyday life — care you can keep up with, rather than one dramatic change.

  • Across the 17 branches in Seoul, Gyeonggi, Incheon and Busan: over 1,000 medical professionals and more than 350 certified medical devices
  • Authentic products only, in appropriate amounts — the treatment is fitted to the condition, not to a package
  • Prices are quoted from each branch’s published price list as it stands

Contact and location

↑ Back to top

Free Consultation

Booking happens at the branch

There is no inquiry form on this page. Once you have picked a branch above, open that branch’s site or the official reservation center and choose a time yourself.

  • No deposit and no online prepayment — everything is paid at the visit
  • Per-treatment prices are published for each branch on the official reservation center
  • English, Japanese and Chinese are supported alongside Korean
V-RO 2 AdvanceContact & booking